The trip to Cora started off a little more eventful that I was hoping for.  The night before, we tucked the kids into bed at my parents’ house and headed home to get a good night’s sleep.  We settled into bed and then got a message from a new friend who shared my itinerary asking if I saw that our flight was canceled… I was able to be rerouted to Seattle adding a couple hours to my already long travel time.

On December 2nd, I woke up, nervous and excited and got ready for my very big day.  As Ryan and I were loading the luggage in the car, I checked my flight status to find that my new flight was delayed causing me to miss my long flight to China. We got the flights rerouted again and after a couple hours delay, I was in the St. Louis airport saying goodbye to Ryan and was on my way.  I was a mixed bag of emotions.  Ready to bring home our girl but not ready to leave Ryan and the kids for 17 days.

11202603_10153671333429376_2589298027279713424_n With the new itinerary St. Louis to Salt Lake City to Seattle to Beijing, my domestic connection times were way shorter than I ever would have wanted, but I was able to run to my gate in Seattle and make it there in time to board.  What’s some international travel without running through airports?

12294657_10153672276014376_4383051010779813752_n

Do you see what’s next to me?  An empty seat!  Yes, I was blessed with an empty row all the way to China.  I settled in for the long, uneventful flight to Cora’s country.

In Beijing, I met up with part of my travel group and our guide.  We got to the hotel, tired and hungry.  After getting settled in my room, I ordered a pizza and did my best to stay awake to see Mandy who was scheduled to arrive around midnight.  I almost made it but you better believe I woke up as soon as I heard her at the door.  I love how God put all of the pieces together so she could join me on this journey.

