One month ago, I got on a bus as a mom of 4 and made my way across the city of Taiyuan with three other nervous and anxious families.  I couldn’t believe the day to get our girl had arrived.  Mandy sat next to me, quietly, understanding just how nervous I was.  I didn’t know what surprises were ahead and while fears certainly crept in, I was mostly just excited.  I was ready to see my Cora Hope.

12347767_10153680104219376_4986951148190425408_n

In no time, we were at the civil affairs office and on our way upstairs to meet our children.  It was such a casual process.  I still can’t believe how fast all of it happened.  I had hardly sat down and then the door opened.  She was the first to come in… no waiting, no getting a toy out for her, and no time for getting my phone ready for a video.

DSC_3685 - Version 2

In walked my bubbly not so little bundle.  Honestly, I joke and say that with all of her layers and her red sweat suit, she looked like Baymax.  An incredibly cute Baymax.

DSC_3857

She warmed up to me as soon as I gave her a snack and drink.  I learned the way to her heart very quickly.  She was ever so helpful as I signed some papers and showed her sunny personality with her orphanage director.

DSC_3715w

DSC_3875

After a little bit of time in the civil affairs office, we all headed down the street to get their passport photos taken.

DSC_3795w

DSC_3913

DSC_3958w

DSC_3974w

DSC_3976w

After the pictures, it was time to head back to our hotel to settle in.  She took a bath and scarfed down all of the food in our room.  We spent the rest of the evening getting to know each other.  What I learned about her on the first day:

1. she loved baths

2. she was extremely playful and loved knocking over blocks

3. she loved to eat

4. she was super snuggly and a total charmer

DSC_4049w

