In the last month, we have been led to adopt a little girl in China.  It’s amazing and scary and a testimony to His faithfulness.  This is our journey to Cora Hope.

This is long so PLEASE stay with me.

Just over a month ago, Ryan and I went to see The Drop Box Film.  It was amazing and inspiring.   We just didn’t know just how inspiring it would prove to be in our lives.  The day after we saw it, I was drawn to look at Holt’s waiting children.  I didn’t know why and I didn’t think anything about it.  Until I saw this one precious girl’s face.  She was so incredibly adorable… my heart skipped a beat.  I opened her picture and read her bio.  She was a heart baby and she shared Evie’s birthday.  I felt an immediate, unexplainable connection to her.   I began praying immediately for a family for her.  She has pretty big medical needs and I couldn’t fathom her facing those without a mama and daddy to love her through them.  I truly felt that my role was to pray for a family to be found for her.  So that’s what I did.  However, the more and more I prayed, the more and more I could see myself as her mama.

I shared this with Ryan, and overwhelmed doesn’t even begin to explain his feelings.  Adopting another child was no where on our radar.  NO WHERE!  We were a happy and complete family… We were done adding to our family.  So, he was floored by my desire and almost couldn’t even process it. He asked for 2 weeks to think, process, and pray.

In those coming days, doubt crept in to my mind.  Could we handle it financially and emotionally?  Did we really want to change our new normal?  Two children with serious medical needs?

On Sunday, we sat in church.  God used the songs to speak to me that morning more than He had in a very long time.  I knew He was saying that I was placing things and comfort before Him and before His plan.  Ugh.  Then, came the sermon.  It was about Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego in the fiery furnace.  It was about abandoning all else, and living for Him no matter what our fears may be.

My friends, one day we will stand before God and give an account for our lives. What will matter is not the money in the bank but the choices we made to honor Christ with our lives. While God has the power to deliver us He knows best about when, how or if to deliver us. Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego thought God would save them because they were choosing to honor Him. Many times God does come to the rescue of those who honor Him. But sometimes God chooses to bring glory to His name through the death, rather than their rescue, of His saints. That is God’s call my friends. Either way, God promises He will bring glory to His name through our lives. We need to leave the choice of rescue or ruin in His hands. Either way, our faithfulness to Him will bring glory to Him.” 

As much as I wanted to check on Ryan and find out what he was thinking, I left him alone.  I gave him his time that he had asked for.  Just 1 week into his 2 weeks, he gave me the go ahead to send in our initial application to Holt.  He had asked God to change his mind from “no” to “yes” and God did.  Ryan is convinced in His heart that no matter how impossible it all may seem, this is what the Lord has for our family.

There are countless pieces of paperwork to file and thousands of dollars to raise in a VERY short time.  We are excited and scared and overwhelmed at all that is to come.  We understand the magnitude of this decision.  We know how much it can and will change our family.  However, none of it is too much for our Lord and King.  He is in control and He has a plan for our family, and we believe that includes a precious little one in China.

So, as of this week as long as everything goes as planned, we will be “matched” with this little girl in China.

This child who has a heart that needs mending.

This child who is an orphan.

This child who is His.

This child who we call our Cora (heart) Hope.

“In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”  John 16:33

 

heart

