cabinet I look in this cabinet every day and kind of laugh at myself.  How did I get to this point?  What has happened to me?

I remember standing in the Magic House 14 months ago talking to one of my amazing heart mama friends.  We were talking about the germiness of the place we were allowing our kids to play knowing full well that it was very likely that they’d be sick in a few days because of it.  She briefly mentioned that she had been using Young Living… silence.  I stared at her not having a clue what she was talking about.  She went on to explain that she had been using essential oils for awhile and that they were loving them… more silence… I kind of totally thought she was crazy, but I nodded my head and changed the subject.  Fast forward about 4 months.  Maggie had been having “weird feelings” in her chest and dizziness.  So, she ended up on a 30 day holter monitor which told us that everything was beating quite normally.  She also hadn’t had an episode for about a month.  I finally put the pieces together and realized that her dizziness was caused by the allergy meds she had been taking… So, no more allergy medicine for my girl… AT ALL.  That’s not a very fun existence, folks.

In the meantime, I have this other friend who had been telling me about the same Young Living essential oils.  She kept posting about how great they were on facebook, and I kind of totally thought she was crazy too.  Then, she posted about how they were kicking their seasonal allergies to the curb with a combo of essential oils… Hmmm….  I started thinking.  Still thought it was kinda crazy, but thought it was worth a try.  So, I started looking at what oils I thought we might use.  Some for allergies for sure, some for immunity, and some for my maniac yell and throw fits in her sleep child.  It was a lot of oils that I wanted to try.  It actually made sense to start with the “Premium Starter Kit”.  It came with this hippy thing called a diffuser and 11 oils.  Seemed gimmicky to me, but it was actually cheaper to go that route.

newkit

So, I ordered the kit, and about 10 days later it arrived.  I was kind of excited but didn’t have a clue what to do with it.  So, it just sat in the box for a couple of days.  My friend messaged me and told me to get it out of the box and start trying stuff out.

For the first month or so, I mainly used my diffuser with oils in it.  Then, I started making some sleep cream for the kids, pain cream for my knees, allergy capsules for Maggie.  I was turning into a hippy!  And I was liking it!

Did we get rid of all of our medicine and stop going to the dr?  Absolutely not.  However, we have an arsenal of oils to try before calling the pediatrician or running to Walgreens for some OTC meds.  I’m able to help my son concentrate better at school, aid my daughter in getting a restful night sleep, and relieve my daughter’s allergy symptoms without making her chest hurt.

I use oils throughout my entire day.  in rooms at night for sleep. rolled on for allergies, colds, coughs, constipation, headaches, immunity, concentration. in coconut oil for aftershave or sore knees or even my facial moisturizer.  in my food for AMAZING guacamole or fruit salad. Seriously.  I use them all day long.

Am I a crazy hippy?  Quite possibly so, but I love it and love sharing the oily love with friends and family.

