To some, that’s not a lot of mileage.  To me, it’s quite an achievement.  I’ve never considered myself a runner.  I didn’t have any reason to run in highschool any more than a mile.  I’ve run several 5k’s in the last 4 years, but I never had the desire nor did I think I was capable of running any farther.

So, this summer, I ran more consistently than ever before and kept adding a little bit of mileage at a time.  In August, I ran a miserable 5k.  It was 90 degrees, no shade, and almost all up hill.  Surviving that convinced me that a flat, fall 10k would be totally doable.  So, I signed up and kept increasing my mileage.

In September, my parents went out of the country for 3 weeks so I no longer had a sitter for Reid while I ran.  I dusted off the jogging stroller and hit the flat riverfront trail.  I was so leery at how he would do sitting for 45 minutes at a time, but he did great.  I guess being outdoors was enough for him.  So, except for 2 runs with sweet friends, Reid was my running buddy for the last 2 months.

Last Friday, I ran 6 miles and my knees started hurting at about mile 1.5 and kept getting worse.  By the time I got to mile 5, I was running in the grass to help ease the impact.  I made it, but not without a lot of pain.  I took the whole week off with hopes of having a decent 10k, but I was honestly dreading today’s run.  I could tell my knees were still tired, and could just imagine how much they were going to hurt.

This morning, I taped up my knees, loaded up on Ibuprofen, and prayed God would strengthen my knees for the 6.2 miles.  He did!  I had absolutely zero pain in my right knee, and a very tolerable amount in my left.  I had set my goal this morning at not having to walk due to pain and finishing in under an hour.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

The weather was absolutely gorgeous for a fall run… not too hot and not too cold.  I spent most of my run praying for those I know who are not able to run long distances for a variety of reasons whether it be special hearts or cancer.  When the pain in my left knee started creeping in, I started thanking Him for the health He has given me. When you look for perspective, things don’t usually seem nearly as bad.  He is so good to me.

???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????

When I got close to the finish line, I could see that I had run much faster than I had hoped.  I far surpassed my goal and came in at 56:41!  10K… I did it!!!

???????????????????????????????

 

