Evie has turned into a silly, giggly mess lately.  On the way to school this morning, she was doing her best to convince her brother that she has held a snake.  Boy did she have Trent going.  He was adamant that she had most certainly NOT held a snake and that she was LYING!!!  “Trent, it’s VERY TRUE.  I’m serious!” she said.  I quickly told Trent to ignore her and did my best to change the subject before my 120% black and white child completely lost it over the invalidity of his sister’s “serious story”.  All the while, she grinned from ear to ear.

Later, she started in on me.

“Mom, did you know I’ve held a snake?”

“really?  when was this?”  I played along.

She then went on to tell me a story that grew and grew as I asked her more questions.  She was adamant that it was not a dream and that this story was “very, very true”.

Apparently, when she was a “very little girl” she saw a white snake (which later in the story became “white with blackish purpleish” and then white and gray) on our picnic table.  The snake which was “about medium size” was a nice snake and did not bite her.  In fact, instead of biting her, it “slithered” up her arm and when it “slithered” it tickled her.

I only wish that you could see her sweet face as she told this story.  She was grinning from ear to ear and her eyes were as wide as saucers.  Oh, how I love my silly, serious snake story telling girl.

