Yesterday, afternoon, I put my 2 little kiddos down for their naps, tackled the dishes, started supper for our busy evening, and looked at the clock. I had about 10-15 minutes left until it was time to get the big kids from school. So, I sat down on the couch with my iPad to read for a few minutes. The next thing I knew, I was waking up to the phone ringing. Groggily, I looked at the clock and it was 3:15… 30 minutes after I usually get to school to pick up the kids. It was my Mom asking if I was ok. After I didn’t answer my cell phone, the school called her to make sure we were all ok. My heart immediately started racing as I went from being mad at myself, to embarrassed, to feeling horrible for my kids and their teachers. I scooped up the little kids who NEVER sleep that long and rushed to school. My kids were just fine and their teachers understood. I still felt embarrassed.

Thankfully, this is the first (and hopefully the last) time I’ve ever done this. However, being Mom to 4 kids has been quite the adjustment. I am COMPLETELY outnumbered, and it is has definitely gotten the best of me more than once.

Like, the time I totally forgot about Trent’s big school project. We had bought the supplies and he had done his research. However, the weekend came and went, and it was the furthest thing from my busy mind.

Or, the time I got to the ball field without Reid’s diaper bag, and he, of course, filled his diaper about halfway through the game…

Or, the many times I’m just too tired to leave the kitchen clean the way I used to…

Or, the numerous times I ask my kids in a not so nice voice to “PLEASE BE QUIET FOR JUST 5 MINUTES!” because I just can’t take one more question…

Or, there is barely a thing for school lunches because I didn’t make it to the store in between the nap schedule.

Anyway, you get the idea. My once, very organized life, looks quite a bit different. However, I’m learning that it’s OKAY! Mishaps happen (although I’d like to never sleep through picking my kids up again) and life goes on.

As I was telling Ryan yesterday’s mishap and how awful I felt, my sweet Maggie Jane said, “Mom, it’s okay. We had fun at after care.”

My kids still love me even though the sink may have more dirty dishes in it than normal and Maggie may have to wear the jeans with holes in the knees to school because they’re the only ones clean.

So, being a Mom of 4 has its’ share of mishaps and craziness, but I wouldn’t trade it for the world. I love our crazy life… most of the time. And, I love the 4 sweethearts that are teaching me something new each day.

021

