There’s a woman I wish you could all meet.  Her name is Judy Morton.  She means more to me than I could ever express.  One long day 5 1/2 years ago, Ryan and I left our newborn baby girl in her hospital bed and made the drive home from St. Louis Children’s Hospital to sleep in our own bed and see our little boy.  As I walked through the door of our little house, I started opening the mail.  Card after card held a short message of promised prayer for our daughter.

However, one stuck out to me as plain as day.  It was a sweet little card from the mother of one of my college friends.  It said, “Dear Faith and Ryan, I just wanted you to know that from the minute Debbie called I have been praying for Maggie.  My entire church has also been praying.  Debbie keeps me updated.  Praise the Lord!   Love, Judy”.  Inside the card was a newspaper clipping listing all of Hopewell Baptist Church’s prayer requests and marked with yellow highlighter was Maggie’s name.

Let me just take a moment to tell you that I have only met Judy once.  ONCE!  Maggie has never had the honor of meeting her.  Yet, Judy has been Maggie’s most faithful prayer warrior.  She has lifted her up in prayer EVERY. SINGLE. DAY.  Maggie’s picture is on Judy’s refrigerator as a reminder to always pray for her.  I have received notes from many of Judy’s friends telling me that they are praying for Maggie Jane by name.  Judy and her friends have prayed for Maggie through all of Maggie’s heart surgeries, procedures, good days, and bad.  Maggie knows Judy’s name and she has just begun to understand the important role Judy has played in her life.

Unfortunately, Judy was diagnosed with uterine cancer last fall.  She fought and she fought hard, but she is now done fighting.  She is spending her last days with her family and she is ready to go Home.  She is ready to meet her Savior face to face and she is ready to fall at His feet.  I imagine this meeting as a most beautiful one.  Instead of a crown, I see Him placing a sword at her feet as He says, “Judy, you have been a mighty prayer warrior and for this you receive a very special reward.  Well done, good and faithful servant.”

My desire was for Maggie to meet Judy some day.  I wanted her to know this absolutely amazing woman who has played such an integral part in her life.  Maggie will not get the opportunity to meet Judy in this life.  She will have to wait until that beautiful day when she, herself, walks through the gates.  I am certain Judy will be waiting right on the other side.  Maggie will run into her arms with a whole heart and they can then spend eternity getting to know each other.

Judy, we love you with all of our hearts and we are so thankful for every prayer you have spoken for Maggie Jane and our family.  I do not know what our days would have been like if it were not for your prayers and words of encouragement.  I pray that you will see your Savior very, very soon and you will hear these words from His lips, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”

