Before medical care improved in S. Korea, most infants did not live to celebrate their first birthday.  Because of this, the Dol (1st birthday celebration), is a very joyous occasion and one of the most important birthdays in Korean culture.  Even though Reid was not here, we still gathered to celebrate with some of our closest friends.  We shared a meal of traditional Korean food with some American food mixed in, and Reid’s Daddy took time to pray for him and for our family.  What a blessed celebration!

This was a very hard day for me.  It was the first day that I truely longed to have Reid with me… the hardest day in our adoption journey, so far.  I had a knot in my stomach all day.  However, his celebration was perfect, and I couldn’t have asked for a more special evening.

