Beauty and the Beast had just begun… the actors and actresses had just taken their places on the stage, and I couldn’t wait to see Maggie’s reaction… Ryan’s phone started vibrating…  I look at it and it’s an 816 area code.

“That’s Judy,” I said.  Judy is our case worker from Holt International and I’d been waiting all month for a call from her… Now I had to sit and wait for the intermission that wouldn’t come for at least an hour.  My stomach was in knots, and distracted doesn’t come close to describing what I felt.  I kept hoping and praying that she had our referral.  I wanted it so badly by Christmas.  I wanted to be able to surprise the kids with a picture of their new baby brother, but I had convinced myself that it wasn’t coming.

Intermission came and I made my way to a semi-quiet corner of the Fox Theatre Lobby and called Judy.  “Faith, I’ve been trying to get a hold of you for 2 hours.  I have your referral.”  These were the words I’d been waiting for for all of December.  However, she had to email it to us.  It would be in our inbox once we got home…  Over 2 1/2 HOURS LATER!  I would have given anything for a smart phone at that minute.

For the rest of the show, I did my best to enjoy my time with my husband and my sweet girl.  However, I couldn’t help but let my mind wander…

“Was our baby a boy?”  “Who was he?”  “How old was he?”  “Was he healthy or would he have special needs?”  All of the same questions a pregnant mama has, entered my mind… and more.  I wondered who his birth mom was, who his foster parents are, where he lives, etc…  I couldn’t wait to get home to get my first glimpse.

We came home, picked up the other kids and snuck away to our office while the kiddos watched a movie in the other room.  We opened the email and saw our referral.  It included his pictures, medical information, birthdate, info about his birth parents and family, and about his foster parents.

I looked at Ryan and said, “We have another son.”

WE HAVE ANOTHER SON!!!!  He’s absolutely beautiful and perfect in every way.  He is 9 months old, and we have named him Reid Matthias (gift of God).  He probably won’t come home to us for 8-12 months, but we have a son!

