In June, I started something I've NEVER done before.  I started training for a 5K.  I did the "Couch to 5K" program.  It starts off with a mix of walking and running and gradually decreases the walking while increasing the running.  It is a 9 week program and with vacation and such, I was ready to run a 5k in 10 weeks.  I absolutely hated it in the beginning.  I am a competitive person and only like to do things that I am good at.  I am NOT good at running.  The farthest I had ever run in the past was 1 mile and that just about killed me.  So, when I started seeing noticeable improvements and could actually run a mile and then 2 miles and then 3 without passing out, I felt good.  I haven't reached my time goal yet, but I am close.  This week, I have tackled hills that I've been avoiding the last 4 months, and next Saturday I will run in my first actual 5K race.  I love the idea of a race  but know that I will not be competitive.  That's okay!… Because I am now enjoying running!

