When I see or talk to someone I haven't seen in a while, they almost always ask how Mags is doing.  I know I haven't updated in a while, but you can always assume that no news is good news. 

Maggie is doing really well… considering.  Most people would never pick up on the things my Mom, Ryan, and I see.  To most people she is full of energy and is doing fine, and for the most part that is true.  However, her energy is not what it was a couple months ago.  She is dragging a bit, gets "sleepy" (as she tells me) a lot earlier in the day, and her sweet fingers and toes aren't quite as pink. 

I've been observing this for the last 2 months and I just kept putting off the dreaded phone call to her cardiologist.  A phone call means action, and since February, I have know that a cardiac catheterization was a possibility for the end of this summer. 

I made the call this monday and Dr. S. wanted us to get her oxygen saturations checked and call her back.  We got her checked and they weren't horrible.  Honestly, I would really like to see them be about 6% higher.  Dr. S. called us back and we both decided that a cath was the best thing to do for her now.  She has these things called AVM's in her lungs which keep her from having the best circulation possible with her special heart.  SO, it's time to get them coiled and get rid of them.  Dr. S. believes that doing this will give us the higher oxygen saturations that we have been longing for since her Fontan, and with that comes more energy, and more of one of my favorite things… PINKNESS! 

I definitely hope that she is right!  I don't want to put Mags through this again in such a short time if it will not take care of the problem, but we'll never know if we don't try.  (I don't have a date yet because I still have to make that dreaded phone call.  I'll probably do that in the next week or so)

