Ryan and I went to the Chris Tomlin/Toby Mac concert last night in St. Louis.  The praise and worship with Chris Tomlin was AMAZING.  Toby Mac, well, he was impressive.  He and his band have more energy than I have ever had… and he is 46.  However, I didn't understand 90% of what he was saying and it was soooo loud.  Yes, it made me feel really old. 

However, all night, I looked around at an arena filled with people praising and worshipping their God with everything in them.  With hands raised, we sang songs about how great our God is and how much we love Him.  It was beyond wonderful.  But, I couldn't help but think, what will all of these people (myself included) do when we walk out these doors where the amazing music can no longer be heard?

You see, in our Small Group Bible Study, we are reading a book called, Crazy Love, Overwhelmed by a Relentless God by Francis Chan.  So far the book is wonderful, but it is very convicting.  It's about how much God loves us and how we are to love Him in return.  The chapter this week was called "The Profile of the Lukewarm" and I didn't like it.  I didn't like it because it stepped on all 10 of my toes over and over and over again. 

He says, "It is not scientific doubt, not atheism, not pantheism, not agnosticism, that in our day and in this land is likely to quench the  light of the gospel.  It is a proud, sensuous, luxurious, church-going, hollow-hearted prosperity."  Hmmmm.  That's me.

Another quote that really got me was this, "I think most American churchgoers are the soil that chokes the seed because of all the thorns.  Thorns are anything that distracts us from God.  When we want God and a bunch of other stuff, then that means we have thorns in our soil.  A relationship with God simply cannot grow when money, sins, activities, favorite sports teams, addictions, or commitments are piled on top of it." 

So, my guess is that the Scott Trade Center was filled with lukewarm Christians who enjoy worshipping God when it's convenient.  How can I say that?  I'm one of them.  As Francis Chan says, "I'm satisfied being godly enough to get myself to heaven or to look good in camparison to others." 

So, I am working on becoming crazy in love with my God… not half-hearted and lukewarm in love with Him… Crazy in Love with my God who loves me more than I could ever imagine.

