While we were in CO, I took the time to make a list of all of the meals that I know how to make and then made out a menu for the whole month of January.  When we got home, I went grocery shopping for the following 2 weeks and only had to return the next week for some milk, bread, and a little bit of produce.

Having my menu planned out saves me so much headache and frustration.  There's no more staring at the pantry at 5:00 p.m. to try to figure out what we might have that sounds good for dinner.  There's no more calling my husband on his way home from work to pick up that one ingredient we dont' have.  We are saving money with our grocery shopping because I don't aimlessly wander the store looking for what might make a couple of good meals, only to return in a couple days to repeat the process.  I'm absolutely loving the routine of this new process.

*I have also been making sure that once a week I plan a meal that can be doubled so that I can put one meal away in the freezer for when Evangeline arrives.  I've been a little bit ambitious and actually have 5 meals in the freezer already!

So, while I have been loving this new change in our lives, apparently my husband has been loving it even more.

Last night, Ryan and I were going through some questions from our Gary Smalley marriage study from our small group.  The last question was, "What is one thing you would change about me?".  Ryan thought for a minute, while I waited wondering what in the world I was going to have to change about myself for my sweet husband.  He said, "well, actually, for the last 8 months the way you've been so unorganized about our grocery shopping and meal planning has really been driving me crazy.  So, I really appreciate the effort you are putting in to the new menu plan."

"Seriously?" I say.  "that's easy, I've got it fixed already."  🙂

Now, if Ryan would have told me 3 months ago that I needed to be more organized with our menu planning, he would have ruffled every feather on this mama bird.  I would have gotten really irritated and bent out of shape, and I definitely would not have made the change.  So, thankfully, I received some prompting from "someone" else (when I didn't even realize it) and did it "on my own". 

Funny how the Lord works in our lives when we don't even realize it.  Sometimes, it's the small things that make the biggest difference.

