Today at church we sang a song that I have sung many times, but it hit home today.  It is called Grace Alone.  The melody is not my favorite but the words are amazing… 

Every promise we can make
Every prayer and step of faith
Every difference we can make
Is only by His grace.
Every mountain we can climb
Every ray of hope we shine
Every blessing left behind
Is only by His grace.
Grace alone which God supplies
Strength unknown He will provide
Christ in us, our cornerstone
We will go forth in grace alone.
Every soul we long to reach
Every heart we hope to teach
Everywhere we share His peace
Is only by His grace.
Every loving word we say
Every tear we wipe away
Every sorrow turned to praise
Is only by His grace.

As I sang this song, faces flashed through my mind:  Stellan, baby Ryan, Maggie Jane, Audrey Caroline, Kaitlyn Grace…  These are just a few, but I thought of the struggles, the heartache, the tears, the pain, the joy, the triumph, the hope, the peace, the praise, the love.  All of these stories began and continue on with grace… Grace Alone.  It is only by His grace that we are able to face each day. 

After I had been thinking about this all day, I opened up my iGoogle page and my eyes drifted over to the verse of the day… how perfect:
2 Corinthians 12:9-10 
But he said to me, "My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness."  Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ's power may rest on me.  That is why, for Christ's sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties.  For when I am weak, then I am strong.

God, thank you for your grace that is sufficient for me.


