Today marks a very special day in your life.  April 10, 2007 I said goodbye to you and placed you in the hands of a man whom we had only met a couple of times.  He seemed skilled and knowledgeable, but was he skilled enough to save your life?  To fix your little bitty heart?  We did not know.  We did know that God could save you if He chose to do so.  We knew that He was in control and had a plan.  However, that was the scariest part of it for me and Daddy.  We didn't know what His plan was.  We did not know if God was going to take you home to be with Him or let you stay with us.  With every fiber of our beings, we wanted to keep you.  We wanted to hold you, feed you, snuggle you, get to know you, and love you.  So, at 7:00 a.m on April 10, 2007 I put you in Dr. Gandhi's earthly hands, however, I was really placing you in the Lord's hands to do with you what He saw fit.  Praise God, that He saw fit to let us keep you.  I have enjoyed every moment of the last 2 years.  You are a joy and light in my life, and I pray that I never have to live without you.  I have spent the last two years praying for your heart.  Every night I tucked you in bed, I prayed that God would keep you and your heart strong, and that He would let you be with us for a very long time. 

However, Maggie Jane, in the last month God has shown me something very important.   He has shown me that my prayer needed to change.  I've been praying for the wrong thing.  So, this last week, as I tuck you in bed, I pray, "Dear God, thank you for my Maggie Jane.  Thank you for the joy she brings to our lives every day.  God, please continue to keep her heart strong and keep her healthy.  But, God, no matter what you choose to do with her heart, please give her a heart that loves You and chooses to serve You no matter what.  Thank You for loving us.  We love you so much.  Amen"

Maggie Jane, I almost can't believe how much you have changed in the last 2 years.  You, now, love to eat!  Some days, you are a better eater than your big brother.  You love to help with laundry, dishes, picking up toys, packing the diaper bag, and cooking.  You want to do everything that Trent and your cousins do.  I don't think you know that you are the baby… or maybe you do and you are doing everything within your power to change that.  You decided to potty train yourself last week before you turned 2 and you have started talking up a storm.  I don't know where all of these words came from all of a sudden.  Your favorite thing to say is, "NO, I will do it." and you are very adamant that we listen to your request to be independent.  You love butterflies, babies, shoes, Elmo, mickey mouse, your fu-fu, and monster trucks.  Yep, my sweet girl loves monster trucks.  Oh well, I guess that's okay.  You love your bubby and you try your best to be by his side at all times.  You guys play better together every day.  You adore your cousins and your Do-Do (Uncle Luke).  You are the best snuggler and I cherish our snuggle time.  You like to tease and you definitely have an ornery streak.  You have the cutest little waddle and I could watch you walk all day long.  We all sit back and watch you waddle and laugh cuz it's so stinkin cute.  You are a very sweet girl.  You truely care about others and get very concerned when someone is hurt and espcially if they have a bandage or an obvious ouchie.  I love this about you.  You are very compassionate.  You are definitely mommy's girl.  You want me to tuck you in every night and prefer me over anyone else.  I don't mind this at all!  I'll take it as long as I can get it! 

Maggie Jane, I love everything about you.  I am even learning to love your heart… your special heart.  This is very hard for me to say because I would still do anything for you to be born with a healthy heart.  However, this year God has begun to show me how He is going to work this out for good.  He has used your story to reach many people this year.  Your story gives them hope for their heart babies and He is using me to reach their mommies.  I pray that  some day you will know how God chose to use you to tell His story.  God chose us to be a heart family for a very special reason and He shows us why a little bit more every day. 

Maggie Jane, thank you for being you.  I love you so much and I thank God for you every day.  Happy late birthday and Happy Norwood-iversary.  I'm so proud to be your mom.

All my love,

Mommy

