0803271457211bday_022crop_copy_l             

My dear Maggie Jane,

Today, you are one year old.  This year has flown by.  Unfortunately, that is partly due to hospital stays and doctors visits.  One year ago, you came into our lives, and we will never be the same again. 
There have been some absolutely amazing times, and times that I would erase away, if I could.  Baby girl, God gave you a very special heart:  a heart very different from everyone else’s.  When you were inside me, your heart did not fully form.  In your first year of life, you have had two open heart surgeries and gone to many doctor appointments.  You have been through so much this year, and I wish that I could take it all away.  However, I cannot.  Everything happens for a reason, and God has a plan for each of our lives – including yours.  We may not ever know why God made you the way He did.  However, I do know that you are one very special little girl, and God loves you very much.  He has taken very good care of you this year.  He has given you amazing doctors:  Dr. Krafcik, Dr. Gandhi, Dr. Sharkey, and Dr. Beumer.  They have each played an amazing part in your life, and I plan to tell you as much about them as I can when you are older.  Maggie Jane, there have been hundreds, maybe thousands, of people praying for you this year.  This is something that you might not ever be able to comprehend, but I fully believe that this is why you are alive today.  God answers the prayers of His people, and you are one GIANT answer to prayer. 
While there are many events I would erase away, I have been blessed to watch you grow this year, and I wouldn’t trade that for the moon.  You are quite the little something.  You are beautiful from your head to your toes.  You were born with dark hair, but it quickly turned blonde with a little bit of red.  For most of your first year, you had crazy hair.  It stuck up everywhere.  Everyone would try to slick it down, except me!  I loved it because it was, you.  I LOVE your eyes.  They sparkle like the bluest ocean.  Your eyes tell your story.  One moment, they will be shining like the sun, and the next moment, they are filled with concern and deep thought.  You have a scowl just like your daddy’s.  Everyone says that you have chipmunk cheeks, and they are always rosy red.  You have a cute little dimple on your right cheek.  We worked very hard to get you chubby, but now you have chubby little legs and a pudgy belly.  Even though you are chubby, you are still our little peanut, and that’s just how we like you.
My dear, you have enough personality for 10 kids.  You have so many opinions and you let them be known.  I wonder who you get this from?  You got my stubbornness, and don’t let anyone tell you that this is a bad thing.  You just have to learn how to handle it! 
Your special heart has not gotten in the way of your activity.  You love to crawl around the house, getting in to EVERYTHING (especially, your brother’s toys)!  You cruise around all of the furniture, and your new favorite thing  is pulling all of the paper out of the printer!  Aaaggghhhh!  You are so flexible – already able to do the splits.  I was never able to master this one. 
Right now, you are my girl.  You choose me over anyone else, and I like it this way!  You love getting tickled by your Daddy, and you guys can do some powerful napping on the couch.  You absolutely adore Trent.  You follow him everywhere and try to play with all of his toys.  When he talks to you, your face lights up.  I can’t wait until you two are best friends.  Your Mammy is one of your favorite people.  You love going to her house and snuggling with her.  You and Trent are so blessed to have all of your family so close to you.  You are so, very loved.

Dearest Maggie, I wish that I could tell you that the worst is over.  However, this is probably not the case.  You have at least one more surgery to go, and someday you may need a new heart.  I wish that I knew what your future held, but I do not.  I do know that we serve an Almighty Father, and He is holding you in His hands every day.  He will give you everything you need, as you need it.  Just as our song says, you are Never Alone. 

May the angels protect you
Trouble neglect you
And heaven accept you when its time to go home
May you always have plenty
The glass never empty
And know in your belly
You¹re never alone

May your tears come from laughing
You find friends worth having
As every year passes
They mean more than gold
May you win and stay humble
Smile more than grumble
And know when you stumble
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

I have to be honest
As much as I want it
I’m not gonna promise that cold winds won’t blow
So when hard times have found you
And your fears surround you
Wrap my love around you
You’re never alone

(Jim Brickman)

Maggie, I pray that you will come to know Jesus Christ as your personal Savior and friend.  I pray that you will learn to rely on Him, and know that He supplies all of our needs.  I also pray that you will always know that God made you the way you are for a very special reason.  You fit into His plan.  This will be very hard for you sometimes, but it is very true.  You are His creation, and He loves you very much. 

I love you with all of my heart, and I look forward to every new day with you! 

Happy 1st Birthday!  All my love, Mommy.

Maggie’s 1 Year Old Pictures

